top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColie

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson - Book Review


Hi guys! It's been a while, I know and that's only because I was struggling to get through today's book review, which is We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. I really wanted to like this book, especially since I really enjoyed Jackson's short story The Lottery. However, this just didn't do it for me. The best part was how short this book was, even though it took me forever to read it because it was such a drag.


Honestly, I was kind of lost for half of the book. I wasn't really following the story, but I have to say that it did pick up once Cousin Charles arrived. That's when it piqued my interest, but just a little. I found myself disappointed when I thought I had reached the last chapter, only to find out that I had one more left.


I like Jackson's style of writing, however this story just did not hold my interest. There was a lot of repetition, with emphasis on Constance and how timid she is of the outside world and how clean she always has to keep her kitchen. Even Uncle Julian was an annoying character. I only liked him when he started insulting Cousin Charles.


Even though Cousin Charles is not supposed to be a likable character (he's clearly only there for their fortune left behind by their father in the safe), I actually liked him the most. Like I stated before, he brought this book back to life.


I liked the premise of this story. A young girl poisons her family with only two other survivors left and they shut themselves off from the rest of the village. However, this book just fell flat for me. Maybe I'll check out the movie on Netflix.


Final rating: 2/5 stars.


Until next time,


xoxococonutlatte


7 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page