top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColie

The Upside of Falling by Alex Light - Book Review

Updated: Jul 20, 2020



Hi guys! I am bringing to you my first official book review and that is on The Upside of Falling by Alex Light! This book actually started on Wattpad, which I am sure many of you are familiar with. It gained immense popularity on there and eventually, because published! Now, let's get right into the review.


Overall, this was a pretty short read but I must admit, I did struggle getting through it. This is the typical young-adult romance, but it wasn't too cheesy. And what's a romance without some complications? Well fear not, this book had its fair share. And that for me, was its downfall.


We meet with the narrator Becca Hart. Becca is seventeen years old who lives with her mother who is a baker. Her mother started baking when her father left them and basically started a new family with another woman. Funny enough (or not funny?), he actually lives a few blocks away from Becca. Because of her father leaving them, Becca does not believe in true love. She would rather read about it in books, because then at least she is not the one getting hurt, but rather the character in said books.


To stop getting teased at school, she decides to lie and tells her ex-best friend that she does, in fact have a boyfriend. At the moment of her saying this, Brett Wells, the school's football star and every girl's crush decides to sweep in and kiss her, thus starts the beginning of their fake relationship.


Of course as is predictable, they end up falling for each other, with plenty of complications along the way. However, that is where the book falls short for me. In my opinion, the book was just too focused on all of those complications and not so much on the development of Becca and Brett's relationship. I know these complications contributed to bringing them closer, however it started to stray away from a lighthearted romance.


It wasn't a terrible book, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I would still recommend this book, just be aware this is not as lighthearted as you may expect it to be.


With that being said, my final rating is 2/5 stars.


You can purchase this book here.


Until next time!


xoxococonutlatte




12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page