top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColie

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon - Book Review

Updated: Oct 9, 2021


This book sure knows how to rip your heart out! I went into it thinking it was just going to be a cute, sappy romance. To be honest, I wasn't super into it in the very beginning. But boy, was I wrong! I love how fast-moving it is and that there's a lot of dialogue; I think that really helped me stay engaged in the story.


I love all of the characters and complex relationships that all link them together. I love Nicola Yoon's style of writing! I love Evie, our main character and her relationship with her friends. Once X was introduced, I loved seeing their relationship blossom and how he helped her see love and life through a fresh pair of eyes. She was afraid to love because of how the love between her parents ended. She mysteriously gains this 'gift' to see couples' love story when they kiss - the beginning and the end. More often than not, love always ended in heartbreak. Because of this, Evie really had no hope in love and refused to fall in it. But sometimes, love really takes you by surprise and the next thing you know, you're waist-deep in it.


Evie of course ends up falling for X, and he falls for her. Ultimately, she sees the vision of their love story and all I will say here is it left me running for a box of tissues!


This book was phenomenal and touching. It had me feeling so many emotions at once. Yoon's previous two novels were both turned into major motion pictures, and I would love for this one to turn into a movie as well. Highly, highly recommend!


Final rating: 5/5 stars


Until next time bookworms,


xoxo

28 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page